What i learned being an interviewer for a day

Photo by Tim Gouw on Unsplash

What i learned being an interviewer for a day

The best CVs have a list of projects

I own a small business, a startup in the field of digital innovation. I and my fellow developer and friend are responsible of both managing some aspects of the business and develop the multitude of softwares needed for our business to run.
The time came when we could finally afford hiring someone on a low budget, cause the goals of our project became so big we couldn't possibly hope to finish everything alone.
Just like that we begun looking for a software developer, no experience needed, willing to learn like us whatever it's needed to go ahead... a Software Engineering student basically, I mean a good one (modesty😜).

My starting point

I've never been an interviewer and i've never been interviewed by some company looking for software engineers, basically I had no experience at all. I didn't know what to ask for and what to look for in people applying.
Then I decided I had to learn more about interviews, so I searched on the internet and talked to some friends.
On the internet many people talk from the perspective of the applying person, explaining common algorithms to find for commonly asked problems, or about how to make a good first impression. I got everything I just learned and applied on reverse, like being aware of nonsensical filler paragraphs, look for soft skills, etc.
It wasn't about excluding everyone, it was about understanding them, filter out things I didn't need, and at the right time ask more about what I care about.

The personal project page

Something that unexpectedly helped chosing an applicant was the personal project page in the CV of some.
Before that moment I subtly thought that only the best and most important project were meant to be on someone CV, only big remarkable achievements and things passing a minimum level of importance.
And yet I caught myself really interested in this person's CV just because I could see real example of their knoledge. I felt like i knew more about their skill set, i trusted more!

To give you an idea, this one person had a picture of a little car made with Arduino UNO and a small description. I knew everything about it, it was just the same thing almost everyone does in their first year as Software Engineering student. I had made one with my friends too, I'm still proud of it but I'd never think of it as a notable achievement, in fact I don't have it on my CV.

What I only understood right in that moment is that a project gives out much more than what you may think. Successfully create even the smallest Arduino project could mean that this person is committed to learning, endures struggles, knows how to find the resources needed, how to apply their skills transversally, it lets understand what knowledge the person has exercised.

Personal projects are important!

Epilogue

At last I and my colleague only had to make a choice between candidates, but being an interviewer has above all made me think about myself as a person and how i judge myself.
It matters to remember the good things you achieve, it make you understand that your work can be appreciated.
Now I'm now more confidend about my skills, because it matters that I accomplish little goals like a small self-driving arduino car, I just don't have to be the best choice for everyone, i'll be the best choice for the ones that will need someone like me.